The Media Library stores uploaded media items for easy reuse throughout the site, so you won't have to re-upload and manage each instance of the media item separately.

Accessing the Media Library

1. Go to Content > Media in the main navigation menu.

Image
Screenshot of Media menu item for accessing the Media Library

Using the Media Library

List View

2. Click the + Add media [2] button if you would like to add a new Audio track, Document file, Image, or Video.

3. All of your Media (audio tracks, document files, images, and videos) will display in a list format [3].

4. You can choose to Edit, Clone, or Delete [4] media items from the Media library.

Image
Screenshot of the media library list view of media items

 

Grid View

5. Select Grid [5] view in order to see larger versions of your images in a grid format and to be able to filter the media list [6].

6. The Action [7] menu allows you to Delete media, Publish media, Save media, and Unpublish media.

  • Select the Action [7] you want to perform.
  • Choose media items [8] by selecting the checkbox next to each media item you want to apply the action.
  • Click the Apply to selected items [9] button.
Image
Screenshot of the media library grid view of media items

 

 

 

Editing and Previewing Media

1. Click the Pencil icon on the desired piece of media. 

Image
Screenshot showing placement of the pencil edit icon on a piece of media

2. From this Edit screen, you can update the media's name, alternative text, focal point, published/unpublished status, and even replace or update the media file itself.

3. From the Edit screen, click the Preview link below the media preview to view how that media displays at different sizes.

Image
Screenshot showing location of Preview link on a piece of media

 

Note that when replacing a file, you have the option whether to overwrite the original file. If overwriting, the replacement upload needs to be the same filetype as the original.

Image
Screenshot of replace file screen. There is a "choose file" selector and the option to overwrite the original file.